Hello all from New Zealand. It has been sunny and cool here, which is fine with me. I can handle cold dry weather like a champ, it’s the rain that gets me. I am thankful for the sunny weather though because my emotions have been up and down. This is not unexpected, there is a fairly predictable emotional response to moving and change but it has still been a bit of a roller coaster up and down. Moving here we gave up a lot of material comforts and luxuries which hasn’t  bothered me at all, in fact I have enjoyed not having a new car that I feel the need to clean all the time and worry about denting and scratching.  I have what I need with out any excess.. Mostly because there isn’t room for excess! That being said, I have found it very hard adjusting to food prices and my expectations around the quality of food I can afford. For a long time now, my life has revolved around food, changing food habits and learning to cook real, unprocessed, whole food. I spent a very long time having pain, stomach aches and stomach upset because of the foods I ate and finally found relief with a paleo style diet but the foods and supplies I had become accustom to in Canada are very expensive and limited in their availability here. I have spent a lot of time and effort educating myself about the affects of foods on our body and it is very hard for me not to have the best quality or same quality of foods that I used in Canada. I can be a bit all or nothing sometimes so finding a middle ground can be challenging for me.  I salute the cafes and people here who eat all organic, free range ect ect but I just can’t do it and still do other things. In my ignorance, I believed that with Nate working full time and having fewer bill we would have more money but we don’t so I will adjust.  It is kind of ironic that for so long all I wanted was the time to be free to cook and bake and now that i do I don’t have the equipment( no stove, food processor, ect) or supples.  Oh well, these are not problems with solutions they are just tensions to be managed because I can’t change the cost of food here and we still have to eat. So I am working to adjust my expectations and keep moving forwards. 

This is not the first time I have moved away and I know that there would be times where I felt sad and others when I felt happy and excited about our new life. At this point I don’t miss home, I know that stage will come later though. We are so lucky that from the moment we got here we had a church and Crossfit gym to go to. It is like an instant community. I have even had two deep conversations that went beyond the surface level “hi how are you” type thing. I LOVE meaningful and deep conversation. It energizes me and gives me a senses of fulfillment in life. I am excited to hear more people’s stories and struggles because ever since I did freedom session I am ruined for small talk. But with being new there is a lot of small talk, which can’t be helped. 

I am feeling more settled this week so I have spent a lot of time praying and asking God, “why did you bring us here? ” ” what is our purpose?” ” what am I supposed to be doing?”. I have not had any lighting bolts of inspiration or burning bushes of direction yet though. This verse helps me feel more patient and settled

” Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways submit to him and he will make your path straight” Proverbs 3:5-6.

While in Canada I considered pursuing coaching Crossfit more but that’s easier said then done while on the other side of the world. So I wait and enjoy my time away from work and do mom stuff like pack lunches, pick and drop off Kalani, do homework, gulp copious amounts of coffee and hang out at Crossfit. Some days when I feel like it I go and explore new areas and eat yummy food or go walk by the ocean. So well I feel frustrated with things here I try to go do something I couldn’t have done back home and it helps remind me of what I have here. I am trying to help Kalani with these concepts as well because at times he is struggling with the differences in how things used to be and how they are now as well. Although some things are just life lessons, like when he tells me he has yet to make a friend at school and he feels lonely. This of course breaks my heart but we all have been the new kid at some point and we all have to learn to push through and how to deal with our feelings in healthy ways. For us, we have spent time praying with him for friends and for God to help him be himself and continue to be friendly and cheerful even when other children aren’t. 

To end this post I have picked a few things that are different to share with my Canadian friends

1. They use 24 hr clocks for everything. Love this. There is no mixing up am and pm on your alarm clock.

2. They call the trunk of your car the boot and shopping carts are called trolleys.

3. They have many unique and one of a kind stores here. There is not a lot of chains or franchise type stores here so it means your supporting a local business or family when you purchase from them. 

4. Morning tea is like snack time. It’s a good thing my mom informed me of this because I can be very literal sometimes and probably would have sent Kalani with a thermos of tea. Duh I guess I am still blonde no matter where we are  

           

One thought on “

  1. Bonnie Jackson says:

    Really enjoyed reading this post. I can relate with so many of your feelings: an appreciation of deep meaningful conversations, of food and its importance to our over all health, of mood swings given the recent extensive changes in your life and of the journey of travel. You are often in your father’s conversations. He loved ‘working’ with Kalani too while you all spent time at home before leaving for NZ. He was impressed by how inquisitive he is about how things worked. He has perked up considerably now that he has access to your life there–quells the worries. Although my spiritual tradition is different than yours i appreciate the wisdom in seeking clarity , truth and direction there. Allison is currently on the West Coast trail and to date the feed back is that everything is going well. What adventurers you both are!. Again, appreciate the insights into the texture of your lives there.
    Hugs all round,
    bonnie

Leave a Reply

