Oops we lost a day

We have arrived! The flight was good and surprisingly quick. Kalani slept for 7 hours and I slept for no hours. Okay that’s not true, I dozed on and off through out the flight. When we arrived at 5 am we were hungry but absolutely nothing is open at that time. It is not like Canada where there is a Starbucks or some type of food place open at all hours and many places are closed on Sunday’s. We spent the morning unpacking, organizing, and shopping for house hold supplies. Nate had gotten the basics but it needed a women’s touch and it was very bachelor padish. He had his stuff kind of spune everywhere so I promptly re-organized and tidied it up. Our place is small but bright and has a lot of potential to set it up to be a cozy little home. I compiled a list of a few of my first impressions regarding differences between Canada and New Zealand

1. The streets and roads here make no sense! There does not appear to be any grid or discernible organizational scheme to them or urban planning. It’s more like “hey we need another road over here” so that’s where they put it.

2. In Canada,  we do not appreciate the convienient availability of goods of all kinds. There is no Walmart’s Costco’s or Winner’s here.  So trying to set up our place is not as easy as heading over to the local Walmart or Superstore and stocking up. You must navigate the tangle of roads and round abouts and go to about three different types of stores depending on what you are looking for. 

3. Things are pricey here. Luckily, everything is always on sale  or if it’s not it probably will be next week. My Dad would have a field day here because everything is always at “blow out” prices. 

4. Dollar stores suck here, like they did in Canada about 10 years ago. Oh well no more dollar store shopping. 

5. Everyone buys stuff on this auction site called Trade me. I am currently bidding on about 10 different items ranging from a bike to an alarm clock. Oh Ya those are hard to find as well for some reason. I am not sure what Kiwi’s do for an alarm clock but it doesn’t seem to be the bedside kind as far as I can tell.

6. It is chilly here, not cold but chilly. Nate bought what must be the cheapest comforter money can buy and it was not adequate. (It’s fine and kept me quite comfortable for three weeks-Nate) I have sheets that are warmer, needless to say, purchasing a new duvet is high on my priority list today. 

7. They air dry everything. Way to go NZ with the eco friendly laundry 

8. It is very green and lush here. So much so that maybe even I will be able to keep some plants alive. I am cursed with a black thumb. My generous Mother would always give me these beautiful plants which I would always managed to kill or just about kill and she would rehab them back to life. 

9. We live near the ocean- pretty self explanatory there. 

10. This seems obvious but they drive on the other side of the road. I did manage to make my maiden voyage in our 1996 Toyota station wagon without hitting anyone or thing. 

11. They have the most delicious looking pastries everywhere. It I still ate gluten I would be 300 lbs. 

Well that is the conclusion of my impressions from my first day. I am sure I will write often over the next week as I wake up at the crack of the middle of the night (2am) and have nothing else to do. I may do some driving around at that time as well because traffic is light and I can get used to right hand drive and explore places I want to go in the daylight. 

Leave a Reply

